CAN partial networking: Simple and efficient CO2 reduction

For reaching the goals defined for CO2 reduction, innovations in automotive electronics are indispensable. One of these innovations is partial networking CAN as presented here. The results achieved with the device E520.13 give proof of the robustness of the chosen implementation. Samples of the Elmos device E520.13 are available and already being used at present by a key OEM customer in vehicle tests. Qualification according to AEC will be finished until the end of 2011, series launch in vehicles is anticipated for 2013. A transfer of the underlying concept to other bus systems is possible and currently being explored.


With the E520.13, Elmos introduces the first IC worldwide that realizes safe CAN partial network operation. The partial network mode makes it possible to individually activate control devices whose permanent operation is not required. If for example ten control devices in a vehicle are designed for partial network operation, CO2 emission can be reduced by approx. 0.5 grams per kilometer. The E520.13 is currently being tested in a vehicle by a major German OEM key customer already.

The component represents an HS-CAN transceiver according to ISO 11898-5, featuring remote wake-up by means of an individually configurable wake-up message (wake-up frame or WUF) for the realization of partial network operation, in addition to the usual wake-up sources. If the transceiver is directly battery-supplied in partial network operation, as is common practice in sleep mode operation today, all other components of the control device can be deactivated. The partial network transceiver monitors the bus traffic, analyzes it down to the bit level, and responds to the control device’s individual wake-up message. In this partial network mode, the power input of the control device is below 500 µA.

The tasks of filing and reading out the individual wake-up message, configuring parameters and controlling state transitions are facilitated by an SPI-compatible interface (Serial Peripheral Interface) to the microcontroller.

The E520.13 guarantees that both partial network transceivers and conventional high-speed CAN transceivers according to ISO 11898-5 can be operated together in one network (interoperability).

Samples of Elmos component E520.13 are available.

Effizienter Klimaschutz: CO2-Reduktion durch CAN-Teilnetzbetrieb

Für ein Erreichen der Ziele zur CO2-Reduktion sind Innovationen in der Fahrzeugelektronik unerlässlich. Eine dieser Innovationen stellt der hier vorgestellte CAN-Teilnetzbetrieb dar. Die mit dem Baustein E520.13 erzielten Ergebnisse demonstrieren die Robustheit der  Implementierung. Muster des Elmos Bausteins E520.13 sind verfügbar und befinden sich bereits heute bei einem OEM-Leitkunden im Fahrzeugtest. Die Qualifikation nach AEC wird Ende 2011 abgeschlossen sein, mit einem Serieneinsatz im Fahrzeug wird ab 2013 gerechnet.

Lösung

Elmos stellt mit dem E520.13 den weltweit ersten ICs vor, der einen sicheren CAN-Teilnetzbetrieb realisiert. Der Teilnetzbetrieb (Partial Network Modus) ermöglicht es, Steuergeräte individuell zu aktivieren, deren Funktion nicht permanent benötigt wird. Werden beispielsweise zehn Steuergeräte eines Fahrzeugs für einen solchen Teilnetzbetrieb vorgesehen, lässt sich der CO2-Ausstoß um circa 0,5 Gramm pro Kilometer reduzieren. Der E520.13 wird bereits jetzt von einem großen deutschen OEM-Leitkunden im Fahrzeug getestet.

Der Baustein stellt einen HS-CAN Transceiver nach ISO 11898-5 dar, der neben den üblichen Weckquellen zusätzlich über einen Remote Wake-up mittels einer individuell konfigurierbaren Weckbotschaft (Wake-Up Frame, WUF) für die Realisierung des Teilnetzbetriebs verfügt. Wird der Transceiver wie heute im Sleep Modus üblich auch im Partial Network Modus direkt über die Batterie versorgt, so können alle anderen Baugruppen des Steuergerätes deaktiviert werden. Der teilnetzfähige Transceiver achtet auf den Busverkehr, wertet diesen bitgenau aus und reagiert auf die individuelle Weckbotschaft des Steuergerätes. In diesem Partial Network Modus beträgt die Stromaufnahme des Steuergerätes weniger als 500 µA.

Für das Ablegen und Auslesen der individuellen Weckbotschaft, für die Parameterkonfiguration sowie für Steuerung der Zustandsübergänge steht eine SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface) kompatible Schnittstelle zum Mikrocontroller zur Verfügung.

Mit dem E520.13 ist sichergestellt, dass sowohl teilnetzfähige als auch herkömmliche High-Speed CAN-Transceiver nach ISO 11898-5 gemeinsam in einem Netzwerk betrieben werden können (Interoperabilität).

Muster dieses Elmos Bausteins E520.13 sind verfügbar.